Tag! I’m it!

I’ve been tagged by Carey over at The Tome Traveller’s Weblog, so here are my answers (and this is a good one!):

1. Who is your all-time favorite author, and why?

I have to pick just one? Wow, that’s harsh! I guess the author that has meant the most to me has been J.R.R. Tolkien. There are many reasons for this, but the most important one is his obvious passion for his work. I’ve never read anything by any author that involved so much depth of detail. He is the only author I’ve researched independently because of my overwhelming interest in his or her work. Tolkien believed in his work and felt that it was important, and that comes through very clearly in his writing.

2. Who was your first favorite author, and why? Do you still consider him or her among your favorites?

The first author I was ever really into was horror author John Saul. I picked up his book Creature in the 6th grade because I boy I liked was reading it. (I know, a pathetic reason to read anything.) Fortunately, I loved the book and began collecting all of them. I read his books all through middle school and high school, and I still have them today. A few of them have remained among my favorites, so yes, I still consider him one of my favorite authors. The fact that he was from Seattle also made me admire him!

3. Who’s the most recent addition to your list of favorite authors, and why?

That’s an easy one. My most recent addition to this list is Marion Zimmer Bradley, the author of the Avalon fantasy/historical fiction series. I’ve only yet read Lady of Avalon, but as you can see from my review of it below, I responded to it on a deep, emotional level. She focuses her books on powerful female characters and their place in their society and religions, something that I have seen lacking in real life. Her writing has prompted me to look beyond the life I am used to and to explore alternative ways of thinking about the world, and is another author I am starting to research on my own. She will soon be competing with Tolkien for the top spot!

4. If someone asked you who your favorite authors were right now, which authors would first pop out of your mouth? Are there any you’d add on a moment of further reflection?

Here are the ones I would immediately list: Tolkien, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, Stephen King, and Marion Zimmer Bradley. Upon further reflection, I would add Clive Barker, Anne Rice (her old stuff, not her new Christian stuff), Charlotte Bronte, Amy Tan, Michael Crichton, John Sandford, Laren Stover, and W.M. Thackeray.

5. Tagged

Rules: Link to the person that tagged you, post the rules somewhere in your meme, answer the Author questions, tag some people in your post, let the tagees know they’ve been chosen by leaving a comment on their blog, let the tagger know your entry is posted.

Here are my victims:

Karen at Fresh as a Daisy

Kylie at Kylie’s Book Nook

Kell at On the Shelf

Have fun, ladies!

One comment

Leave a Reply

