Booking Through Thursday: Reading Tastes

Have your book-tastes changed over the years? More fiction? Less? Books that are darker and more serious? Lighter and more frivolous? Challenging? Easy? How-to books over novels? Mysteries over Romance? [Posted on 6/05/08]

My answer: My tastes in books has definitely changed over the years. When I first got serious about reading at about age 13, I went from reading The Babysitters’ Club to reading horror novels by Stephen King, John Saul, and Dean Koontz. It was my discovery of Jane Austen at age 17 that really cemented my early fiction tastes: 19th century English literature, and modern-day thrillers. Since then, about ten years later, the fiction I love to read has simply expanded to include fantasy, 20th century literature (from the likes of Hemingway, Virginia Woolf, John Irving, and Amy Tan), and a more expanded selection of the classics (including Dickens and the 3 Brontes) and thrillers (like Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and John Sandford). I’m also always on the lookout for new authors and have recently discovered authors like Neil Gaiman and Marion Zimmer Bradley.

I have also found great joy in non-fiction, especially books about history (particularly English and Irish history), culture and spirituality (mainly pagan), and biographies and literary criticisms of some of my favorite writers. I am probably increasing my non-fiction library faster than my fiction library, and will keep doing so for a long time…I can’t see myself ever being satisfied or feeling like I know everything!

3 comments

  1. Neil Gaiman was a relatively recent discover for me too, and I put a friend of mine on to him. 🙂
    I’d like to read more non-fiction, but my brain doesn’t seem to have the capacity for it at the moment.

Leave a Reply

