Booking Through Thursday: Flavor

Think about your favorite authors, your favorite books . . . what is it about them that makes you love them above all the other authors you’ve read? The stories? The characters? The way they appear to relish the taste of words on the tongue? The way they’re unafraid to show the nitty-gritty of life? How they sweep you off to a new, distant place? What is it about those books and authors that makes them resonate with you in ways that other, perfectly good books and authors do not? [Posted on 6/19/08]

My answer: There are many authors I love, and I love them for different reasons. They all have their strengths and weaknesses, and as with many things, it’s all down to personal taste. Here are some of my favorite authors, and the reasons why I love reading their books:

Jane Austen: She’s probably the funniest writer ever! I constantly laugh out loud when I read any of her books, and no one is better at writing ridiculous characters. I also find myself hanging on to every word, finding myself breathless at her pace – even when it seems like nothing’s happening, there always is!

Stephen King: It’s his ability to make the unbelievable believable that I love. I never question the supernatural events and beings in his books…they become a part of the story, just like anything else.

Charles Dickens: I don’t really know why, but I feel more intelligent and enriched when I read a Dickens. His gritty portrayal of life in Victorian England is both frightening and humorous, and I reserve his books for special occasions.

J.R.R. Tolkien: Probably my very favorite writer. His books absolutely sweep me away to another time and another land. How can you not love an author who so obviously loved his work?

Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child: The best writing team out there! Their Pendergast series is fast-paced, well-researched, and feature a detective more brilliant than Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot put together.

4 comments

  1. Reading Dickens is certainly NOT a chore. It’s a deeply enriching experience for me, after which, I feel as if I’ve learned something about the past, human nature, and even the world I live in.

  2. Stephen King is also one of my favorites, as are Austen, Dickens and Tolkein. I’ve never read any Preston/Child books (haven’t heard of them actually), but since I agree with the rest of your list, I’ll have to check them out!

Leave a Reply

