Booking Through Thursday: Doomsday!

What would you do if, all of a sudden, your favorite source of books was unavailable?

Whether it’s a local book shop, your town library, or an internet shop … what would you do if, suddenly, they were out of business? Devastatingly, and with no warning? Where would you go for books instead? What would you do? If it was a local business you would try to help out the owners? Would you just calmly start buying from some other store? Visit the library in the next town instead? Would it be devastating? Or just a blip in your reading habit? [posted on July 10, 2008]

My answer: I think that because I’m living in an area with no character, it wouldn’t matter much if the Borders at the mall here closed down. I’d be annoyed, but I would just go to Barnes and Noble. But, if I heard that Eagle Harbor Books in my hometown of Bainbridge Island, WA had burned down, I’d be devastated! It’s the only bookstore on the island, and is a great place to hang out. I also buy a lot of books from Amazon, and the only real consequence I can see if they shut down would be that I would buy a lot fewer books. Good for my bank account!

3 comments

  1. Well, that’s definitely good news, Paul! The next time I’m on the island, I’m going to be sure to pop in and thank you…and buy some books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

